Ontario News

Ontario Celebrates 2021 Order of Ontario Appointees

Twenty-four Ontarians receive the province’s highest honour for their outstanding achievements

TORONTO — The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of the Order of Ontario, announced 24 new appointments to the Order of Ontario for 2021. The Lieutenant Governor will bestow the province’s highest honour to the new appointees at a ceremony to be held on November 21, 2022.

“As Chancellor of the Order, I join Ontarians in congratulating the 2021 Order of Ontario appointees,” said Her Honour Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Chancellor of The Order of Ontario. “Their service to our province is a reminder to all of us fortunate enough to call Ontario home, that the fabric of society is knit together by good deeds and the dedication of individuals. May their accomplishments be an inspiration and example for many to follow.”

The Order of Ontario recognizes exceptional leaders from all walks of life and diverse fields of endeavour whose impact and lasting legacy have played an important role in building a stronger province, country and world.

The 2021 appointees to the Order of Ontario are:

  • Payam Akhavan
  • Walter Arbib
  • Teresa Cascioli
  • George Chuvalo
  • Angela Cooper Brathwaite
  • Aimée Craft
  • Stephen Diamond
  • Nishan Duraiappah
  • Mitch Frazer
  • Leo Goldhar
  • Steve (Suresh) Gupta
  • Elise Harding-Davis
  • Armand P. La Barge
  • Sandra Laronde
  • Dave Levac
  • David McKay
  • Barbara Morrongiello
  • Lori Nikkel
  • Rose M. Patten
  • Christina Petrowska Quilico
  • Robert Poirier
  • Kevin Smith
  • Joan VanDuzer
  • Sara Waxman

“On behalf of a grateful province, the Ontario government is proud to honour and congratulate the 2021 appointees to the Order of Ontario,” said Michael Ford, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism. “With their impressive achievements and outstanding contributions, these individuals represent the best of the best in our great province. Their dedication, drive and lifetime of service is an inspiration to everyone who aspires to build better communities and a stronger Ontario.”

 Image: Government of Ontario



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.